I truly am a “social” butterfly.

I was very much amused that I have been reminded once again of what a social butterfly I am. To be completely honest, I had the feeling that I already knew what the results would be of the surveys that I took ( see http://www.learning-styles-online.com/inventory and http://www.nwlink.com/~donclark/hrd/styles/learn_style_survey.html) prior to taking them.

Ever since I was young, I enjoyed the company of people. I love listening to what they have to say and likewise, I expect that they take the time to hear what I have to share. I’ve always believed that it is through these exchanges that I learn more about people, life in general and myself.

Hearing stories about their own experiences and situations allowed me to evaluate and reflect on my own life, how to better deal with difficulties and see the silver lining in most situations. Not all stories have happy endings, of course, as we may all imagine, and this is perhaps why I am thankful that I have people to learn those valuable life lessons from.

As a student of this course, I intend to make use of my own strength as a social learner to engage in meaningful dialogues or discussions since learning is and will always be a two- way street. Furthermore, I believe that it is through the combined efforts of individuals (myself, my peers and teacher) that will allow me to maximize my overall learning experience. I also would want to be open to other people’s learning methods and to deeply understand how and why they work for them so that I may then work on incorporating them to my own teaching strategies. This way, I may be able to use those methods to tailor-fit learning activities, programs or workshops that will help my future students learn most effectively.

Leave a Reply

