“Memories”

” Memories, may be beautiful and yet
what’s too painful to remember
we simply choose to forget
So it’s the laughter we will remember
whenever we remember
the way we were. ”

This paragraph above which is an excerpt from Barbara Streisand’s song entitled “The Way We Were” more or less summarizes my thoughts on memories. Come to think of it, when I reminisce with family and friends over lunch or dinner, what I would normally notice is that we get to look back at all the fun times we’ve shared over the years. Rarely would we bring up events/ situations that brought any of us pain or grief. Even during times when I attended wakes of my friends’ family members, I get to hear them tell stories of the good times that they had with the member that they lost, and, they revered the life of the one who went ahead of them.

What does this say about my memory and perhaps of others too? I would like to believe that my memory serves as my bank of good thoughts ( primarily) that is always made available to me especially when I need to make “withdrawals” when necessary. Withdrawals would mean looking back at past experiences and what I have learned from them and applying those learning to present and perhaps future situations. And even if my memory bank has stored a few unpleasant events in my life, I am still grateful because they are equally important as those good ones because without having experienced a bit of sadness, sorrow and pain, I may not have been the person that I am today. A person who appreciates life and everything that comes with it.

And as I will eventually be a part of someone else’s memory, my hope is that I, too, be remembered for all the right reasons and, that somehow their memory of me may bring them smiles and laughter.

Leave a Reply

