Thoughts on 3C/Personal Preferences

After having enriched myself with so much information regarding the different kinds of assessments and their advantages and disadvantages, I can’t help but go back down memory lane and recall my own experiences as a student and how I prepared myself each and every time I was to take those ‘tests’.

Normally, majority of our tests came in the traditional form wherein we were given multiple- choice type of tests, true or false, enumeration, matching- type and others. The performance- based tests however were mostly given by our non- academic subjects ( except for Science) like Physical Education (PE), Home Economics and Livelihood Education (HELE) and Music. I still remember that, part of my preparation then for traditional tests was that I jot down notes as I make my reviewer and I found that to be quite effective as it was relatively easy to tap on my memory. Needless to say, memorization played an important factor on how I was able to get decent grades. However, memorization is not my number one choice when it comes to approaches or methods when reviewing for major exams as I am aware that at times anxiety can lead to mental- block. Quite frankly, I realized that I felt more comfortable doing alternative or authentic assessments. With alternative assessments, I have learned to follow procedures and come up with fruitful results like in cooking, sewing and baking or when I did experiments that gave sound conclusions to theories that started off only as hypotheses. I was also able to express my thoughts and ideas through skits, oral reports and presentations which I enjoyed doing the most as I had never been the shy type.

And, now that I have been made aware of the differences as well as the pros and cons of traditional and authentic assessments, I believe that educators must find a balance in the use of both. I say this because I believe that no single type of assessment can be the absolute measure of one’s knowledge and skill. Apart from this, we may look at things in this perspective, that when traditional assessments fail or are found to be ‘lacking in its effectiveness’ in certain aspects, then educators must rely on authentic assessments to be the alternative tool in measuring what needs to be measured ( and vice- versa). Therefore, they must complement each other rather than compete with one another. Besides, they share the same end goal, and that is, to improve both teaching and learning.

Leave a Reply

